DENMAN COMMUNITY LAND TRUST ASSOCIATION (DCLTA)

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING June 15, 2021 Via ZOOM

20 people in attendance

Note: All votes taken by ZOOM polling. Instructions given for 2 voters at one site; 2nd vote to be cast in Chat window; 1 member voted by phone

- 1. CALL TO ORDER by Stephanie Slater at 7:07PM.
- 2. DRAFT AGENDA Motion by Stephanie Slater to approve the agenda. CARRIED
- 3. **MINUTES OF 2020 AGM** Circulated prior to the meeting Motion by Nancy Hoyano to approve the minutes. CARRIED
- 4. TREASURER'S REPORT (John Mills) attached.

Current balance as of May 31. 2021 is \$351,238.18, an increase of \$19,595.30 over December 2020 statement. Liabilities and expenses are expected to increase as the Pepper Lane Project moves forward. Question regarding status of independent financial review. John noted that further investigation of options is to occur. Motion by John Mills to approve the Treasurer's Report .CARRIED

5. **DIRECTORS**' **RPEORT** (Stephanie Slater & Doug Olstead) (attached)

The current focus of the DCLTA is to design, construct and operate an independent living complex for the use of low-income seniors. Although the project is still in the planning phase, Stephanie recounted DCLTA's achievements since 2014. The Islands Trust must give re-zoning approval for the site. The amendment to a Land Use Bylaw created specifically for this project was approved by the Islands Trust and is now before the Minister for Municipal Affairs and Housing, along with the accompanying amendment to the Denman Island Official Community Plan. Final approval is expected soon. Reports also included information on the Housing Agreement Bylaw, the Restrictive Covenant., subdivision, ALR requirements, and funding opportunities. The board has had discussions with both BC Housing and the Canada Mortgage and Housing Commission (CMHC), and both agencies are supportive, offering the prospect of a combination of grants and low-interest loans.

The support of the Denman Island community was acknowledged, along with the tireless work of Harlene Holm and Guy Marion. A special acknowledgment was made for Louise Bell, a long-time ally of the organization.

Motion by Stephanie Slater to approve the Directors' report. CARRIED

6. PRESENTATIONS OF MOTIONS:

- 6.1 Be it resolved the purchase of the .7 ha. Pepper Lane property from Bev Severn for \$100,000 be approved. Doug Olstead moved & Debbie Frekitch 2nd approval of the motion. CARRIED
- 6.2 Be it resolved that following passage of resolution 1), section 37(3) of the Bylaws requiring membership approval of expenditures of \$100,000 or more be repealed. Doug Olstead moved & Paul Beauchemin 2nd approval of the motion. CARRIED
- 6.3 Be it resolved that the # of directors be changed from 5 to no fewer than 5 and no more than 11, as determined by the existing directors from time to time. Doug Olstead moved & Paul Beauchemin 2nd approval of the motion. CARRIED
- 6.4 Be it resolved that if a) DCLTA decides not to proceed with the Pepper Lane Project and b) wishes to sell the project property and c) there are no significant improvements to the property beyond this date, it agrees that Bev Severn shall have the first right to purchase the property for the price of \$100,000 and shall enter into an agreement with her to that effect. Doug Olstead moved & Sue Hammel 2nd approval of the motion.

An amendment was put forward by John Millen to delete "c" and insert "...alternatively, if there are significant improvements, the purchase price for such fist right to purchase shall be \$100.000 plus appraised value of the improvements." Discussion ensued on several points including the meaning of "market value" in the context of a non-profit, lack of consultation with Bev Severn about the amendment, and "fairness" of the motion/amendment relative to Bev's interests.

Motion tabled pending discussion with Bev.

7. ELECTION OF DIRECTORS

- 7.1 Noted that board members are elected for 2 years.
- 7.2 Continuing board members (2nd year) Chris Wardman, John Mather, Stephanie Slater
- 7.3 Board members who have been appointed since the 2020 AGM and are standing for election or standing for re-election: Doug Olstead, Sue Hammel, Brad Hornick, Paul Beauchemin, Debbie Frekitch & Nancy Hoyano (re-election for 2 years). Moved by Stephanie Slater and Bill Engleson 2nd to accept the slate of nominees as
- presented. CARRIED
- 8. **PRIZE DRAW:** Ladle carved in wood from Jimmy Tait's garden by Tom Zawilla. Winner: Satya Bellerose
- 9. **ADJOURNMENT**: Motion to adjourn made by Brad Hornick Adjournment 8:23PM

Minute taker: Patti Willis